Ergon Airlock Header
  • Product Presentation
  • Management II
  • Cloud Security
  • Data security / DLP / Know-how protection
  • Industry 4.0 / IoT / Edge Computing
  • Network Security / Patch Management
  • SIEM / Threat Analytics / SOC
  • Trend topic

Application Security - quo vadis?

Application security is more than just a web application firewall. We show you where the journey is going.

10/7/2020 1:15:00 PM – 10/7/2020 1:30:00 PM

Please log in or register in advance so that you can take part in actions or watch videos about the action!

This action is available to the it-sa 365 community as a video.

Ergon Airlock Header
  • Product Presentation
  • Management II

Application security is more than just a web application firewall. We show you where the journey is going.

Language: German

Questions and Answers: Yes

graphical blue background
close

This video is available to the it-sa 365 community. Please register or log in with your login data.

Action description

The evolution of web technologies, DevOps and the emergence of container platforms pose great challenges for security managers. This presentation will highlight the most important aspects they will have to face in the future.
The classic web application has had its day
Traditional web applications are increasingly being replaced by modern single-page applications (SPA) or native mobile apps. WAF technologies built to protect simple HTML pages are no longer sufficient. The interaction paradigm between client and server has fundamentally changed down to the transport formats. APIs are becoming the new heart of web applications.
Challenge #1: Who protects all the APIs?
OWASP (the Open Web Application Security Project) is responding to this trend with a new and specialized top ten list for API security, which was first published in late 2019. Because APIs offer a much more direct access to business objects and resources, new risks arise. For example, the authorization of access to objects must not be left to the client. Although SPAs may control access, hackers are not dependent on interaction via the official interface. They can also interact directly with the API. An API Edge Gateway is therefore required.
Challenge #2: Authentication and Access Management
One of the most important issues when protecting Web resources is Access Control. Who can access which objects and when? There are standards such as OAuth 2.0, OpenID Connect or SAML for this purpose, but these are not included in the scope of delivery of a typical WAF. In order to answer the many "w" questions sensibly, the first thing you need is a suitable authentication solution to determine the identity of the users, who of course do not want to log in anew every time they access. A concept for comprehensive single sign-on on the web and API channel is therefore needed. Moreover, the identities we are talking about here are mostly heterogeneous and include a large number of "external" users, such as customers or partners.
So-called cIAM (Consumer IAM) systems offer their services here. They are optimized for large numbers of users and offer a good user experience through integrated UIs for user onboarding and self-services. The handling of Social Identities (BYOI) and a high flexibility in the authentication process (Adaptive Authentication) are crucial here.
Challenge #3: Micro Segmentation and DevOps
WAFs must reinvent themselves not only on the functional level. New challenges also arise regarding deployment forms. With the emergence of microservice architectures and DevOps, large centralized WAF installations are increasingly being questioned. The necessary coordination between application owners, WAF administrators, developers and the security team leads to loss of efficiency and frustration.
It would be better if these tasks could be segmented along the services to be protected. In concrete terms, DevOps teams would have to be able to take responsibility for their services holistically, i.e. including security, and from the first minute to production. In order for this to be possible at all, WAFs must be available as lightweight containers that can be flexibly strapped onto Kubernetes or OpenShift in front of individual services. In this model, the central security appliance guarantees basic security. Integration tasks and the development of security policies are performed close to the service by specialists with detailed knowledge of the services to be protected.
A vote for an integrated solution
A modern application security solution should be able to meet all these requirements.

read more

Speaker

Company

Ergon Airlock Header
  • Product Presentation
  • Management II
  • Cloud Security
  • Datensicherheit/DLP/Know-how-Schutz
  • Industrie 4.0/IOT/Edge Computing
  • Netzwerksicherheit/Patch-Management
  • SIEM Threat Analytics SOC
  • Trendthemen

Application Security - quo vadis?

Ergon Airlock: Applikationssicherheit ist mehr als nur eine Web Application Firewall. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wo die Reise hingeht.

07.10.2020 13:15:00 – 07.10.2020 13:30:00

Bitte loggen Sie sich ein oder registrieren Sie sich vorab, damit Sie an Actions teilnehmen, oder Videos zur Action anschauen können!

Diese Action steht der it-sa 365 Community als Video zur Verfügung.

Ergon Airlock Header
  • Product Presentation
  • Management II

Ergon Airlock: Applikationssicherheit ist mehr als nur eine Web Application Firewall. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wo die Reise hingeht.

Sprache: German

Action beinhaltet Q&A: Ja

graphical blue background
close

Dieses Video steht der it-sa 365 Community zur Verfügung. Bitte registrieren Sie sich oder melden Sie sich mit Ihren Login-Daten an.

Actionbeschreibung

Die Evolution von Web-Technologien, DevOps und das Aufkommen von Container Plattformen stellen Security Verantwortliche vor grosse Herausforderungen. Dieser Vortrag beleuchtet die wichtigsten Aspekte, denen sie sich in Zukunft stellen müssen.
Die klassische Webapplikation hat ausgedient
Herkömmliche Webapplikationen werden immer häufiger durch moderne Single-Page-Applications (SPA) oder native mobile Apps ersetzt. WAF-Technologien, die für den Schutz einfacher HTML Seiten gebaut wurden, reichen nicht mehr aus. Das Interaktionsparadigma zwischen Client und Server hat sich bis runter auf die Transportformate grundlegend verändert. APIs werden zum neuen Herzstück von Webapplikationen.
Herausforderung #1: Wer schützt all die APIs?
OWASP (das Open Web Application Security Project) reagiert auf diesen Trend mit einer neuen und spezialisierten Top-Ten-Liste für API-Security, welche Ende 2019 erstmals veröffentlicht wurde . Weil APIs einen viel direkteren Zugang zu Business Objekten und Ressourcen bieten, ergeben sich auch neue Risiken. Die Autorisierung beim Zugriff auf Objekte darf beispielsweise nicht dem Client überlassen werden. Obwohl SPAs den Zugriff kontrollieren mögen, sind Hacker nicht auf die Interaktion über die offizielle Oberfläche angewiesen. Sie können auch direkt mit dem API interagieren. Es wird also ein API Edge Gateway benötigt.
Herausforderung #2: Authentisierung und Access Management
Eines der wichtigsten Themen beim Schutz von Web Ressourcen ist Zugriffskontrolle. Wer darf wann auf welche Objekte zugreifen? Dafür gibt es Standards wie OAuth 2.0, OpenID Connect oder SAML, welche aber nicht zum Lieferumfang einer typischen WAF gehören. Um die vielen «w»-Fragen vernünftig zu beantworten, braucht es in erster Linie eine geeignete Authentisierungslösung, um die Identität der Benutzer festzustellen, die sich natürlich nicht bei jedem Zugriff neu einloggen wollen. Es braucht also ein Konzept für übergreifendes Single Sign-on auf dem Web- und API-Kanal. Die Identitäten, von denen hier die Rede ist, sind zudem meist heterogen und umfassen eine Vielzahl «externer» Benutzer, wie beispielsweise Kunden oder Partner.
Sogenannte cIAM (Consumer IAM) Systeme bieten hier ihre Dienste an. Sie sind optimiert für grossen Benutzerzahlen und bieten eine gute User Experience durch integrierte UIs für User-Onboarding und Self-Services. Der Umgang mit Social Identities (BYOI) und eine hohe Flexibilität beim Authentisierungsvorgang (Adaptive Authentisierung) sind hier entscheidend. Auch die starke Authentifizierung ist sollte hier mitbedacht werden, am besten vollintegriert im cIAM.
Herausforderung #3: Micro Segmentation und DevOps
WAFs müssen sich nicht nur auf der funktionalen Ebene neu erfinden. Auch bezüglich Deployment Formen stellen sich neue Herausforderungen. Mit dem Aufkommen von Microservice-Architekturen und DevOps werden grosse zentrale WAF Installationen zunehmend in Frage gestellt. Die notwendige Koordination zwischen Anwendungsverantwortlichen, WAF-Administratoren, Entwicklern und dem Security Team führt zu Effizienzverlusten und Frustration.
Besser wäre es, wenn diese Aufgaben entlang der zu schützenden Services segmentiert werden könnten. Konkret müssten DevOps Teams die Verantwortung für ihre Services ganzheitlich, d.h. inklusive Security, und von der ersten Minute an bis in die Produktion übernehmen können. Damit dies überhaupt möglich wird, müssen WAFs als leichtgewichtige Container zur Verfügung stehen, die sich flexibel auf Kubernetes oder OpenShift vor einzelne Services schnallen lassen. Die zentrale Security Appliance garantiert in diesem Modell die Basis-Sicherheit. Integrationsaufgaben und Erarbeitung der Security Policies werden nahe beim Service von den Spezialisten mit Detailkenntnissen der zu schützenden Services erfüllt.
Ein Votum für eine integrierte Lösung
Eine moderne Application Security Lösung sollte all diese Anforderungen erfüllen können.
(Ergon Airlock)

mehr lesen

Speaker

Veranstalter