ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa 


Which will be the best cybersecurity startup in Germany, Austria and Switzerland?

Join the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa! The most important startup award for cyber startups in the DACH region is entering its fifth round.

Initiated by:

UP22@it-sa Award | The Initiators

ATHENE (Digital Hub Cybersecurity)

ATHENE, the National Research Centre for Applied Cybersecurity and Europe's largest centre in this field, is also a co-name sponsor for the first time this year. Through its Digital Hub Cybersecurity project, it supports cybersecurity from the very beginning with know-how, transfer and access to startups in the DACH region.


IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. 

The IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. is one of the three award initiators and has contributed significantly with its national and international network from the very beginning. As a comprehensive provider of know-how in questions of information security, safety and security, the cluster is also a contact for startups in the IT security domain beyond the time frame of the award.  


it-sa 365 

Through its dialogue platform it-sa365 the NürnbergMesse, as a co-initiator, is providing significant support, for example with free Company & Product packages for the ten nominated startups, the organisation of the pitches and the framework of the award ceremony at it-sa 2022, and the communication of the award via its channels.

 

TAKE YOUR CHANCE AND APPLY NOW!

The application deadline has been extended until 4 July 2022, 11:59 pm.

Who can participate?

The ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa is open to startups from Germany, Austria and Switzerland that deal with IT security or data protection. Prerequisite: Your company has been founded, already has its first customers and is not older than five years (founded in 2017 or later). 

How to apply?

Simply download the application form, fill it out and upload it here together with a pitch presentation (max. 10 slides) and - optionally - a video from 2 May 2022 onwards. In the table you can see what content your pitch presentation should contain. Your video can be up to 60 seconds long. You can upload a total of 10 MB.  

UP22 Award | Pitch Presentation

Main prize worth €10,000

The best cybersecurity startup in 2022 will win five days of coaching and mentoring specifically tailored to its needs and will receive special conditions for participation in the Startup Area at it-sa 2023 worth a total of €10,000. All nominated startups can present and network at it-sa365 free of charge for one year with the Company & Product Package.

Nominated by the jury - voted for by the audience

Take part in the vote! On 22 September, the professional audience will vote for the winner. You want to submit your vote? Block the date now.


Our jury will select ten startups from all the applications. These will then present themselves to the professional audience, experts and investors. They can collect votes from the beginning of September until the live pitch event on 22 September. The votes collected until then will be added to the votes given by the audience during the live pitch event. This is how the audience decides who wins the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa. 
To win, you have to convince the audience with the overall package of your team, innovation and business model.


The award ceremony and supporting programme will take place on 27 October at it-sa 2022! 

 
   
UP22 Award | Timeline Graphic

Our offer

Support

At the end of the competition, the winning team not only holds the trophy in its hands, but also benefits from five days of coaching and mentoring specially tailored to its needs. We will work with you to identify topics that will help you move forward. Tell us what you need, and we will work out the best format with you. 
 

Network

Network with Europe's cybersecurity industry. Use the virtual pitch event to increase your visibility. Present yourself at it-sa365 with the free Company & Product Package. Network at the show and make valuable business contacts. Continue to network with Germany's research community.
 

Attention

The ten nominated startups are part of it-sa365! You will be featured on the platform and homepage of the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa, in the social media channels, public relations, a video as well as in an online brochure.

Four winners - four success stories - four reasons to participate

UP@it-sa-Award | Winner UP21 - XingSys

Winner of the UP21@it-sa Award

Markus Hertlein | Managing Director XignSys


"XignSys was named the best cybersecurity startup in the DACH region by winning the UP21@it-sa Award. The award is something very special for us, not least because we were able to prevail against strong competitors. The award was accompanied by an exclusive supporting programme at it-sa, which enabled us to meet important decision-makers from politics and business. The UP@it-sa Award is one of the most sustainable awards!
 
 
Mirko Ross, asvin - Winner UP20@it-sa Award

Winner of the UP20@it-sa Award

Mirko Ross | Managing Director asvin


"I am impressed by the quality of the submissions and presentation of the last four years. Germany has something to offer in terms of excellent cybersecurity startups! So, it's worth watching the finals." 
 
 
UP@it-sa-Award | Winner UP19 - Alex Christophe

Winner of the UP19@it-sa Award 

Alex Christophe | Sales Director IDEE


"The ATHENE Startup Award UP@it-sa is a great opportunity to compete with the best cybersecurity startups in the DACH region, but also to learn from each other and grow yourself! My strong recommendation: apply!"
 

 
IT-Seal,  Winner of the UP18@it-sa Award

Winners of the UP18@it-sa Award

Alex Wyllie & David Kelm | Managing Directors IT-Seal


"Dear entrepreneurs, cybersecurity will shape our future, and your innovations are shaping part of that future! Our clear recommendation: Have the courage, seize the opportunity and show your colours at Europe's largest trade fair for cybersecurity and at the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa! We look forward to welcoming you to the cybersecurity community."
 

 

Stimulating, supporting, paving the way

The idea behind the Award:


ATHENE/Fraunhofer SIT as well as NürnbergMesse and IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. observed that exciting cybersecurity startups have been emerging in the DACH region for many years. However, until a few years ago, they operated a bit under the radar.
With the award, the initiators are therefore not least concerned with creating visibility for the innovative strength in Germany and actively promoting the startups.

Sandra Wiesbeck, executive chairwoman of IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V.: "The current situation of IT security worldwide has once again made us aware of how important the topic is and how vulnerable our digital structures are. That is why we are particularly keen to support the innovative strength and enthusiasm of startups as part of the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa."

 

The Jury

Jury, Andreas Bechtold

"The startup scene in the cybersecurity industry is certainly one of the most active worldwide. Supporting startups from the DACH region with their go-to-market strategy is an important component of future success." 

Andreas Bechtold, CRO Infinigate Group

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | Jury Hertlein
"Especially nowadays, we see that cybersecurity is a key to a stable society. Therefore, as the winner of the UP21@it-sa Award, I am particularly pleased to be able to complement the top-class jury of the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa and am excited to see the best startups of the DACH region and their solutions and what added value they create in the very agile environment of cybersecurity." 


Markus Hertlein
, Managing Director XignSys GmbH

Simon Hülsbömer

"I am absolutely sure, IT security startups from the German-speaking region will inspire us with innovations, ideas and immense verve at the ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa - for the fifth time already! As a representative of the UP media partner, I also always enjoy reporting on the event and the nominated startups. I have been part of the jury from the very beginning and am impressed every year by the exciting projects we get to be a part of. I hope to see you in Nuremberg!"

Simon Hülsbömer, Senior Project Manager – Editorial Office, COMPUTERWOCHE

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | IT-SEC Dr. Matthias Kampmann

This year, Dr. Matthias Kampmann, Head of Research and Development at IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V., is enriching the jury for the first time:

"Offering an award that prominently highlights the best in the DACH region demands and promotes a competitive as well as innovative environment, also with a view to digital sovereignty in Europe. We are helping to put the horsepower of fresh ideas on the road and I thank you for the trust and honour to be a member of the jury in 2022."

Oliver Küch

"Applied research plays a special role in the founding of startups in Germany - many of the successful startups are direct spin-offs from research institutions or arise from cooperations with them. Startups are an important building block in the successful transfer of research. Everyone benefits from this in the long term: society, the state and the economy. That's why we at ATHENE/Fraunhofer SIT support this award." 

Oliver Küch, Director Marketing and PR, Fraunhofer SIT

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | Jury Simran Mann
"The strengthening and strategic use of our excellent IT security location must be a core concern in the coming years. Cybersecurity must be understood as a key technology and the innovative spirit of science, business and startups must be brought together.
The ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa contributes exactly to this and I am looking forward to being a judge this year!" 


Simran Mann
, Security Policy & Information Security Officer, Bitkom e.V.

Supporters and media partners

UP22 Award | Supporter

Questions? Suggestions?

Contact for questions about the award:


Ute Richter,
ATHENE Digital Hub Cybersecurity 
mailto: ute.richter@athene-center.de 

Lena Kress,
ATHENE Digital Hub Cybersecurity
mailto: lena.kress@athene-center.de
 

Contact for questions about participation at it-sa 365:


it-sa 365 Team,
NürnbergMesse
mailto: itsa365@nuernbergmesse.de 

 

Contact for questions about sponsorship:


Dr. Matthias Kampmann,
IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V.
mailto: matthias.kampmann@it-sicherheitscluster.de

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa 


Wer ist das beste Cybersecurity-Startup der DACH-Region?

Mitmachen beim ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa! Der wichtigste Gründerpreis für Cyberstartups in der DACH-Region geht in die fünfte Runde. 

Initiiert von:

UP22@it-sa Award | Die Initiatoren

ATHENE (Digital Hub Cybersecurity)

ATHENE, das Nationale Forschungszentrum für angewandte Cybersicherheit und Europas größtes Zentrum in diesem Bereich, ist in diesem Jahr erstmals Co-Namensgeber. Es unterstützt über sein Projekt Digital Hub Cybersecurity von Anfang an mit Know-how, Transfer und seinem Zugang zu Startups in der DACH-Region.


IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. 

Der IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. ist einer der drei Ideengeber des Awards. Von Beginn bringt er sein nationales und internationales Netzwerk mit ein. Das Cluster ist als umfassender Know-how-Geber in Fragen der Informationssicherheit, Safety und Security für Startups in der IT-Sicherheitsdomäne auch über den zeitlichen Rahmen des Preises hinaus Ansprechpartner. 


it-sa 365 

Die Dialogplattform it-sa365 der NürnbergMesse unterstützt als Mitinitiator maßgeblich u. a. mit kostenlosen Company & Product Paketen für die zehn nominierten Start-ups, der Organisation der Pitches und den Rahmen der Award-Verleihung auf der it-sa 2022 sowie der Kommunikation des Awards über ihre Kanäle.

 
UP22 After Work Talk

Digitaler After Work Talk

Wie haben sich die Vorjahresgewinner weiterentwickelt? Was sind ihre Lessons Learned und Tipps? Und welche Rolle nehmen sie und anderen Cyber-Startups für die digitale Souveränität ein? – Darum ging es beim After Work Talk am 5. Mai.


Sie konnten beim digitalen After Work Talk nicht live dabei sein? Oder möchten das Gespräch und die Tipps der Vorjahresgewinnern des UP-Awards noch einmal ansehen? 

Die Aufzeichnung des Talks steht Usern der it-sa 365 ab sofort kostenfrei zur Verfügung. 

 

NUTZT EURE CHANCE UND BEWERBT EUCH JETZT!

Die Bewerbungsfrist ist bis zum 4. Juli 2022, 23:59 Uhr verlängert.


Wer kann mitmachen?

Teilnahmeberechtigt für den ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa sind Startups aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, die sich mit IT-Sicherheit oder Datenschutz befassen. Voraussetzung: Eure Firma ist gegründet, hat bereits erste Kunden und ist nicht älter als fünf Jahre (Unternehmensgründung ab 2017).


Wie bewerben?

Einfach Bewerbungsformular runterladen, ausfüllen und zusammen mit einer Pitch-Präsentation (max. 10 Folien) sowie – optional – einem Video ab 2. Mai 2022 hier hochladen. In der Tabelle seht Ihr, welche Inhalte Eure Pitch-Präsentation enthalten soll. Euer Video kann bis zu 60 Sekunden lang sein. Insgesamt könnt Ihr 10 MB hochladen.  

UP22 Award | Pitch Präsentation

Hauptpreis im Wert von 10.000€

Das beste Cybersecurity Startup 2022 gewinnt ein speziell auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenes fünftägiges Coaching und Mentoring und erhält spezielle Konditionen für die Teilnahme auf der Startup Area der it-sa 2023 im Gesamtwert von 10.000 €. Alle nominierten Startups können sich mit dem Company & Produkt-Paket kostenlos ein Jahr lang auf der it-sa365 präsentieren und vernetzen.

Die Jury nominiert – Das Publikum wählt


Bestimmen Sie mit!

Am 22. September stimmt das Fachpublikum ab, wer der Gewinner ist. Sie wollen mitbestimmen? Jetzt schon den Termin blocken.


Aus allen Bewerbungen wählt unsere Jury zehn Startups aus. Diese stellen sich dann dem Fachpublikum, Experten sowie Investoren vor. Dazu können sie ab Anfang September bis zum Live-Pitch-Event am 22. September Stimmen einsammeln. Die bis dahin gesammelten Stimmen werden zu den vom Publikum während des Live-Pitch-Events vergebenen Stimmen addiert. So entscheidet das Publikum, wer den ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa gewinnt. 

Um zu gewinnen, müsst Ihr mit dem Gesamtpaket aus Team, Innovation und Geschäftsmodell überzeugen.

Die Preisverleihung mit Rahmenprogramm findet am 27. Oktober auf der it-sa 2022 statt!
UP22-Award | Timeline-Grafik

Das bieten wir euch


Unterstützung

Das Gewinnerteam des Wettbewerbs hält am Ende nicht nur den Pokal in den Händen, sondern profitiert auch von einem speziell auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen fünftägigen Coaching und Mentoring. Gemeinsam mit Euch legen wir Themen fest, die Euch weiterbringen. Sagt uns, was Ihr braucht, und wir erarbeiten mit Euch das beste Format.  


Netzwerk

Vernetzt euch mit Europas Cybersecurity-Branche. Nutzt das virtuelle Pitch-Event, um Eure Sichtbarkeit auszubauen. Präsentiert Euch mit dem kostenlosen Company & Produkt-Paket auf der it-sa365. Netzwerkt im Rahmen der Messe und knüpft wertvolle Geschäftskontakte. Vernetzt Euch weiter mit Deutschlands Forschungscommunity. 


Aufmerksamkeit

Die zehn nominierten Startups sind Teil der it-sa365! Ihr werdet auf der Plattform und der Homepage des ATHENE Startup Awards UP22@it-sa, in den Social-Media-Kanälen, der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, einem Video sowie in einer Online-Broschüre präsentiert.

Vier Gewinner – vier Erfolgsgeschichten – vier Gründe mitzumachen

UP@it-sa-Award | Sieger UP21 - XingSys

Gewinner des UP21@it-sa Award

Markus Hertlein | Geschäftsführer XignSys


„XignSys wurde mit dem Gewinn des UP21@it-sa Awards zum besten Cybersecurity Startup der DACH-Region gekürt. Die Auszeichnung ist für uns etwas ganz Besonderes, nicht zuletzt, weil wir uns gegen die starken Mitwerber durchsetzen konnten. Zum Gewinn gab es ein exklusives Rahmenprogram auf der it-sa, das uns ermöglicht hat, wichtige Entscheider aus Politik und Wirtschaft zu treffen. Der UP@it-sa Award ist einer der nachhaltigsten Awards!“
 
Mirko Ross, asvin - Gewinner des UP20@it-sa Award

Gewinner des UP20@it-sa Award

Mirko Ross | Geschäftsführer asvin


„Ich bin beeindruckt von der Qualität der Einreichungen und Präsentation der letzten vier Jahre. Deutschland hat was zu bieten in Punkto exzellente Cybersecurity Startups! Es lohnt sich also, das Finale zu verfolgen.“ 
 
UP@it-sa-Award | Sieger UP19 - Alex Christophe

Gewinner des UP19@it-sa Award

Alex Christophe | Sales Director IDEE


„Der ATHENE Startup Award UP@it-sa ist eine tolle Gelegenheit, um sich mit den besten Cybersecurity-Startups im DACH-Raum zu messen, aber auch, um voneinander zu lernen und selbst zu wachsen!
Meine klare Empfehlung: Bewerbt euch!“

 
 IT-Seal, Gewinner des UP18@it-sa Award

Gewinner des UP18@it-sa Award

Alex Wyllie & David Kelm | Geschäftsführer IT-Seal


"Liebe Entrepreneur:innen, Cybersecurity wird unsere Zukunft prägen, und eure Innovationen gestalten einen Teil dieser Zukunft!
Unsere deutliche Empfehlung: Traut euch, ergreift die Chance und zeigt Flagge auf Europas größter Messe für Cybersicherheit und beim ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa! Wir freuen uns, euch in der Cybersecurity Community willkommen zu heißen."

 

Anregen, unterstützen, Wege ebnen

Die Idee hinter dem Award


Sowohl ATHENE/Fraunhofer SIT als auch die NürnbergMesse und der IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. beobachteten, dass in der DACH-Region seit vielen Jahren spannende Cybersicherheitsstartups entstehen. Allerdings agierten diese bis vor wenigen Jahren ein bisschen unter dem Radar. Mit dem Preis geht es den Initiatoren deshalb nicht zuletzt darum, Sichtbarkeit für die Innovationskraft in Deutschland zu schaffen und die Startups aktiv zu fördern.

Sandra Wiesbeck, geschäftsführende Vorstandsvorsitzende des IT-Sicherheitsclusters e. V.: „Die aktuelle Situation der IT-Sicherheit weltweit hat uns nochmals vor Augen geführt, wie wichtig das Thema ist und wie verletzlich unsere digitalen Strukturen sind. Deshalb ist es uns ein besonderes Anliegen, die Innovationskraft und -freude von Startups im Rahmen des ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa zu unterstützen.“ 

 

Jury

Jury, Andreas Bechtold
„Die Startup-Szene in der Cybersecurity Branche ist sicherlich eine der aktivsten weltweit. Startups aus der DACH-Region bei der Go-to-Market Strategie zu unterstützen, ist ein wichtiger Bestandsteil des zukünftigen Erfolgs.“ 


Andreas Bechtold
, CRO Infinigate Group

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | Jury Hertlein

„Gerade in der heutigen Zeit sehen wir, dass Cybersecurity ein Schlüssel einer stabilen Gesellschaft ist. Daher freue ich mich besonders, als Gewinner des UP21@it-sa Awards, die hochkarätige Jury des UP22@it-sa Award ergänzen zu dürfen und bin gespannt auf die besten Startups der DACH-Region und ihre Lösungen und welche Mehrwerte diese in dem sehr agilen Umfeld der Cybersecurity schaffen.“ 

Markus Hertlein, Geschäftsführer XignSys GmbH

Simon Hülsbömer

„Zum bereits fünften Mal werden uns IT-Security-Startups aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum mit Innovationen, Ideen und immensem Verve bei ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa begeistern - da bin ich mir absolut sicher. Als Vertreter des UP-Medienpartners berichte ich zudem immer sehr gerne über den Event und die nominierten Startups.
Ich durfte von Anfang an in der Jury mit dabei sein und bin jedes Jahr aufs Neue beeindruckt, an welch spannenden Projekten wir teilhaben dürfen. Ich hoffe, wir sehen uns in Nürnberg!"
 

Simon Hülsbömer, Senior Project Manager – Redaktion, COMPUTERWOCHE

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | IT-SEC Dr. Matthias Kampmann
In diesem Jahr bereichert Dr. Matthias Kampmann, Forschungs- und Entwicklungsleiter beim IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V., erstmals die Jury:


„Die Auslobung eines Preises, der die Besten in der DACH-Region prominent hervorhebt, fordert und fördert ein kompetitives wie innovatives Umfeld auch mit Blick auf die digitale Souveränität in Europa. Wir tragen dazu bei, die PS frischer Ideen auf die Straße zu bringen, und ich bedanke mich für das Vertrauen und die Ehre, in 2022 Mitglied der Jury zu sein.“

Oliver Küch
„Die angewandte Forschung spielt für die Gründung von Startups in Deutschland eine besondere Rolle – viele der erfolgreichen Startups sind unmittelbare Ausgründungen aus Forschungseinrichtungen oder entstehen aus Kooperationen mit diesen. Startups sind ein wichtiger Baustein im erfolgreichen Forschungstransfer. Davon proftieren langfristig alle: Gesellschaft, Staat und Wirtschaft. Deshalb unterstützen wir als ATHENE/Fraunhofer SIT diesen Preis.” 


Oliver Küch
, Director Marketing and PR, Fraunhofer SIT

ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa | Jury Simran Mann

„Die Stärkung und strategische Nutzung unseres exzellenten IT-Sicherheitsstandorts muss Kernanliegen der kommenden Jahre sein. Es gilt, Cybersicherheit als Schlüsseltechnologie zu begreifen und den Innovationsgeist von Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Startups zusammenzubringen.
Der ATHENE Startup Award UP22@it-sa trägt genau dazu bei und ich freue mich darauf, in diesem Jahr als Juror dabei zu sein!“
 

Simran Mann, Referentin für Sicherheitspolitik & Informationssicherheit, Bitkom e.V.

Unterstützer und Medienpartner

UP22 Award | Unterstützer

Fragen? Anregungen?

Ansprechpartnerinnen für Fragen rund um den Award:


Ute Richter, ATHENE Digital Hub Cybersecurity 
mailto: ute.richter@athene-center.de 


Lena Kress
, ATHENE Digital Hub Cybersecurity
mailto: lena.kress@athene-center.de

 

Ansprechpartner für Fragen rund um die Teilnahme auf der it-sa 365:


it-sa 365 Team,
NürnbergMesse
mailto: itsa365@nuernbergmesse.de 

 

Ansprechpartner für Fragen rund um Sponsoring:


Dr. Matthias Kampmann,
IT-Sicherheitscluster e. V. 
mailto: matthias.kampmann@it-sicherheitscluster.de