Send message to

Do you want to send the message without a subject?
Please note that your message can be maximum 1000 characters long
Special characters '<', '>' are not allowed in subject and message
reCaptcha is invalid.
reCaptcha failed because of a problem with the server.

Your message has been sent

You can find the message in your personal profile at "My messages".

An error occured

Please try again.

Make an appointment with

So that you can make an appointment, the calendar will open in a new tab on the personal profile of your contact person.

Create an onsite appointment with

So that you can make an onsite appointment, the appointment request will open in a new tab.

Forums it-sa Expo International Forum B

The broken investment chain of the European cybersecurity market - Roundtable discussion

ECSO presents: The role of strategic investors in developing and strengthening the entire European cybersecurity ecosystem to attract investments and retain talents in Europe

calendar_today Tue, 12.10.2021, 13:00 - 14:00

event_available Hybrid

place Hall 7A, International Forum B

Action Video

south_east

Action description

south_east

Themes

Trend topic

Event

This action is part of the event Forums it-sa Expo

Action Video

grafischer Background
close

This video is available to the it-sa 365 community. 
Please register or log in with your login data.

Action description

Cybersecurity represents a complex and fragmented market in Europe, suffering from the funding gap of more than €4 billion in 2020, if compared with the United States (US). The lack of specialised growth capital fund, strategic buyers as well as international marketing and business skills make Europe lag behind the US, Israel and China in this strategic sector. This forces European cybersecurity champions to leave European market and scaleup overseas.
Given this operating context, this panel discussion aims to gather international investors and cybersecurity experts to discuss the strategies to tackle the lack of sufficient and specialised growth capital beyond the seed and A-rounds (>10M€) in Europe, as well as hot to ensure a sustainable path to scale up and exit/IPO European cybersecurity companies in Europe instead of accessing the US market. The broken investment chain in Europe is staggeringly obvious. Several important European cybersecurity pure players (e.g., Security Matters, Sentryo, Blueliv to mention but a few) have been acquired by non-European corporates over the last years, resulting in the reduced competitiveness of the European cybersecurity market.
This pressing issue will be tackled in the context of the newly launched joint initiative between the European Cyber Security Organisation (ECSO), its members and the European Investment Bank (EIB) Advisory Hub, which aims to create a European Cybersecurity Investment platform (ECIP) to help address the funding deficit in cybersecurity technologies.
A special focus will be given to the role of European strategic investors to further develop and strengthen the whole cybersecurity investment chain, leading towards a more comprehensive and integrated European approach to public-private investments in cybersecurity. This is considered a key factor for increasing the EU’s global competitiveness, attractiveness and excellence in cybersecurity.

Participating investors and cybersecurity experts will be invited to share their insights and suggestions on how to overcome the existing barriers and facilitate the growth of the European cybersecurity market. Invited speakers include:

Axel Deininger, CEO & Chairman of the Management Board, secunet Security Networks AG
Javier Diéguez Barriocanal, Director, Basque Cybersecurity Centre (confirmed)
Martin Kreuzer, Member of Board of Directors, Clavister
Thomas Riechmann, VP Cybersecurity Services COO, Atos


Moderator: Luigi Rebuffi, Secretary General, European Cyber Security Organisation (ECSO)

... read more

Language: English

Questions and Answers: No

close

This content or feature is available to the it-sa 365 community. 
Please register or log in with your login data.

• it-sa insights
  • International Forum B
  • Trendthemen

Die unterbrochene Investitionskette auf dem europäischen Cybersicherheitsmarkt - Roundtable Diskussion

Die Rolle strategischer Investoren bei der Entwicklung und Stärkung des gesamten europäischen Cybersicherheitsökosystems, um Investitionen anzuziehen und Talente in Europa zu halten.

12.10.2021 13:00:00 – 12.10.2021 14:00:00
Hybrid: Hall 7A, International Forum B
  • it-sa insights
  • International Forum B

Die Rolle strategischer Investoren bei der Entwicklung und Stärkung des gesamten europäischen Cybersicherheitsökosystems, um Investitionen anzuziehen und Talente in Europa zu halten.

Sprache: Englisch

Action beinhaltet Q&A: Nein

close

Dieses Video steht der it-sa 365 Community zur Verfügung. Bitte registrieren Sie sich oder melden Sie sich mit Ihren Login-Daten an.

Actionbeschreibung

Der Markt für Cybersicherheit ist in Europa komplex und fragmentiert und leidet unter einer Finanzierungslücke von mehr als 4 Mrd. EUR im Jahr 2020 im Vergleich zu den Vereinigten Staaten (USA). Aufgrund des Mangels an spezialisierten Wachstumskapitalfonds, strategischen Käufern sowie internationalen Marketing- und Geschäftskompetenzen liegt Europa in diesem strategischen Sektor hinter den USA, Israel und China zurück. Dies zwingt europäische Cybersicherheitsunternehmen dazu, den europäischen Markt zu verlassen und in Übersee zu expandieren.
Vor diesem Hintergrund zielt diese Podiumsdiskussion darauf ab, internationale Investoren und Cybersecurity-Experten zusammenzubringen, um Strategien zu erörtern, mit denen der Mangel an ausreichendem und spezialisiertem Wachstumskapital jenseits der Seed- und A-Runden (>10 Mio. €) in Europa behoben werden kann, sowie Strategien, die einen nachhaltigen Weg zur Vergrößerung und zum Exit/IPO europäischer Cybersecurity-Unternehmen in Europa anstelle des Zugangs zum US-Markt gewährleisten. Die unterbrochene Investitionskette in Europa ist erschütternd offensichtlich. Mehrere wichtige europäische Cybersecurity-Pure-Player (z. B. Security Matters, Sentryo, Blueliv, um nur einige zu nennen) wurden in den letzten Jahren von außereuropäischen Unternehmen aufgekauft, was die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des europäischen Cybersecurity-Marktes beeinträchtigt hat.
Dieses drängende Problem wird im Rahmen der kürzlich gestarteten gemeinsamen Initiative der Europäischen Organisation für Cybersicherheit (ECSO), ihrer Mitglieder und der Beratungsstelle der Europäischen Investitionsbank (EIB) angegangen, die darauf abzielt, eine Europäische Investitionsplattform für Cybersicherheit (ECIP) zu schaffen, um das Finanzierungsdefizit bei Cybersicherheitstechnologien zu beheben.
Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt wird auf der Rolle europäischer strategischer Investoren liegen, um die gesamte Investitionskette im Bereich der Cybersicherheit weiterzuentwickeln und zu stärken, was zu einem umfassenderen und integrierteren europäischen Ansatz für öffentlich-private Investitionen in die Cybersicherheit führt. Dies wird als Schlüsselfaktor für die Steigerung der globalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Attraktivität und Exzellenz der EU im Bereich der Cybersicherheit angesehen.

Die teilnehmenden Investoren und Cybersicherheitsexperten werden eingeladen, ihre Erkenntnisse und Vorschläge zur Überwindung der bestehenden Hindernisse und zur Förderung des Wachstums des europäischen Cybersicherheitsmarktes mitzuteilen. Zu den eingeladenen Rednern gehören:

 

Axel Deininger, CEO & Chairman of the Management Board, secunet Security Networks AG
Javier Diéguez Barriocanal, Director, Basque Cybersecurity Centre (confirmed)
Martin Kreuzer, Member of Board of Directors, Clavister
Thomas Riechmann, VP Cybersecurity Services COO, Atos

Moderator: Luigi Rebuffi, Secretary General, European Cyber Security Organisation (ECSO) (confirmed)

mehr lesen

Event

Diese Action ist Teil des Events it-sa Expo 2021